Articles

featured

Questions?

Mar 13, 2018

There have been numerous questions about how some of the new cards work. Here are some of the more commonly asked questions.


featured

Questions?

Mar 13, 2018


Spur to Action and Smith of Resonating Steel both are able to play the “when this creature is summoned” ability of other cards. One way to use Spur to Action and Smith of Resonating Steel is to re-use Variable Assault Unit, Fuuma or Mischievous Sprite’s abilities. Spur to Action, with its fort burst ability, can also offer an unexpected counter during the opponent’s turn!

However, if the ability being re-used has a condition or cost tied to it, that part must still be fulfilled. Taking Maiden of the Grove as an example, you would need to siphon green 4 to put a card into the resource zone.

 
 

featured

Questions?

Mar 13, 2018


Nephthyria, Solemn Jailor’s ability lets it serve as a counter against aggressive play, preventing cards like Hrist of the Infernal Blades or Ferocity Unleashed from playing out cards other than from hand. However, the original printed text was not sufficiently clear on what Nephthyria, Solemn Jailor is able to prevent.


And so, we have changed the text to better reflect how the ability works


CONT@ All players can only play spells or summon creatures from their hand. (Spells and abilities that play spells or summon creatures cannot be used.)


Fort bursts and ambushes can still be able to be activated, as players are not playing the ability, not the card itself. However, if the ability’s effect includes the playing of a spell or the summoning a creature, that part of the ability would be prevented by Nephthyria, Solemn Jailor.


featured

Questions?

Mar 13, 2018


The next question is tricky one that requires a look at the comprehensive rules. With Serene Prelate in play and Restrain in effect, what would the cost of placing an ambush be? The answer lies in the order that their effects are applied, and in section 8.7.1.3 of the comprehensive rules, we can see that abilities that set numeric values will be applied before abilities that modify numeric values.


And so, Serene Prelate will first set the cost of ambushes to 0, followed by Restrain’s effect to increase the cost by 3, resulting in a final cost of 3.

 
 

featured

Questions?

Mar 13, 2018


Lastly, we have Phoenixfire Dragon’s ability. Ambush zones are part of the field, so when an ambush creature is put into the discard pile from the ambush zone, it qualifies to be placed back on the field by Phoenixfire Dragon. This includes the case where play an ambush to a zone that already had an ambush, causing the creature card that was in the ambush zone to be put into the discard pile.

One trick to take advantage of this is using Plato, Accomplished Scientist to place down a creature card in the ambush zone. Usually, if the card does not have an ambush ability, it would only serve as a bluff. But with Phoenixfire Dragon, you can summon that card by playing an ambush to the same zone!

By Jonathan Tan
Developer, Dragoborne -Rise to Supremacy-